solar-eclipse-glasses

Where will you be watching the solar eclipse?

Wherever you are, you can watch on your phone or computer.

Thanks to the Exploratorium, a leading science learning laboratory and museum in San Francisco, for letting me know about these five live feeds of the Great American Eclipse on August 21st, 2017.

You can watch the feeds via the Total Solar Eclipse App or visiting the Exploratorium’s Eclipse Web Page. Thanks to Adler Planetarium for the free glasses. We'll be wearing them at the Waterloo, Illinois Solarbration Celebration.

 

Exploratorium's solar eclipse coverage and concert lineup

ONE

A telescope feed from Casper, Wyoming telescope views from Wyoming | 3 hours beginning at 16:15 utc / 9:15 pdt

TWO

A telescope feed from Madras, Oregon telescope views from Oregon | 2.75 hours beginning at 16:00 utc / 9:00 am pdt

THREE ENGLISH / FOUR SPANISH 

A one-hour English language educational eclipse program with scientific explanations by Exploratorium and NASA scientists 1-hour english language educational program (based in oregon, featuring wyoming) Start:  17:00 UT, 10:00 PDT, 11:00am MDT, 1:00pm EDT // End:  18:00 UT, 11:00 PDT, 12:00 MDT, 2:00pm EDT

A one-hour Spanish language educational eclipse program with scientific explanations by Exploratorium scientists  1-hour english language educational program (based in oregon, featuring wyoming)

Start:  17:00 UT, 10:00 PDT, 11:00am MDT, 1:00pm EDT // End:  18:00 UT, 11:00 PDT, 12:00 MDT, 2:00pm EDT

  • Featuring interviews with eclipse chasers, Exploratorium and NASA Scientists, and totality from two locations
  • General information about the eclipse, path of totality, and safe-viewing techniques
  • Explore NASA's upcoming Solar Probe Plus mission with NASA scientist Dr. Eric Christian
  • Hosts: NASA Education Specialist, Dr. Hakeem Oluseyi and Exploratorium’s Dr. Rob Semper
  • High-dynamic-range live eclipse video streams from four telescopes at each location
  • Uses: viewing in schools and community eclipse events, eclipse parties, online viewers wanting to learn about eclipses while seeing live views of eclipse from telescope feeds

FIVE 

Live performance by Kronos Quartet and eclipsesonification from San Francisco. 

3-HOUR SONIFICATION WITH 30-MINUTE KRONOS QUARTET PERFORMANCE (BASED IN SAN FRANCISCO)

Total solar eclipse app

The Total Solar Eclipse App, produced by the renowned Exploratorium in San Francisco, includes an interactive map, safe-viewing techniques, and the ability to view the eclipse live from internet-connected phones and tablets.

The app also enables users to move seamlessly between the Exploratorium’s five live streams of the eclipse, which include direct telescope feeds from Wyoming and Oregon, English and Spanish programs featuring scientists from the Exploratorium and NASA, and a sonification of the eclipse with a live performance by Kronos Quartet at the Exploratorium’s home on the San Francisco waterfront.

In “social mode,” users can engage with communities via social media using preloaded hashtags even while viewing live and recorded eclipse videos. The release of the app is part of the Exploratorium’s large-scale education initiative, supported by NASA, around the coming total solar eclipse on August 21, 2017.